iPhone Forum

General Discussion - Canon Vixia HF S200/S20/S21 footages to FCP importing

jacknjchn - Mon Oct 22, 2012 1:40 am
Post subject: Canon Vixia HF S200/S20/S21 footages to FCP importing

Canon Vixia HF S200/S20/S21 are the three typical ones in Canon's HF S series of AVCHD camcorders, which can help users shoot 1080/60i footages in popular AVCHD format. The popular AVCHD is a high compressed format, so it is not easily editable for some editors, like Final Cut Pro. All users are satisfied with the video quality, but they are eager to get Canon AVCHD to FCP for smoothly editing as well as the below user.

Shot footage on Canon Vixia HF S20 looks great in camera, but when I attempt to import to FCP, the program reject the footages I searched the solution to try the Log and Transfer. No luck. I've never used this camera before and my boss needs me to impress our new school superintendent...help!

Are you planning to edit Vixia HF recordings with FCP? How to get the highly compressed AVCHD format video work with FCP? Most users have tried a variety of methods, but still cannot find a solid answer. Here we recommend the professional Mac Canon AVCHD Converter, which is designed for Mac users to encode incompatible Canon AVCHD videos to FCP favorable Apple ProRes format keeping the original quality loss.

First, start the recommended Mac MTS Video Converter to load your AVCHD (.mts/m2ts) files to it.

Then, go to the Final Cut Pro profile list via clicking the Format bar and you are advised to choose “Apple ProRes 422 (*.mov)”or “Apple ProRes 422 HQ (*.mov)” format.

Next, you’d better adjust the video and audio parameters by clicking the Settings buttion on the main interface. The screen shot listed below is our recommendation on the settings for you.

Finally, press the Convert button and the Mac AVCHD to ProRes Converter will start converting Canon AVCHD to ProRes for FCP on Mac OS X immediately.