iPhone Forum

General Discussion - Flash vs HTML5

kasselbiddy - Mon Jul 30, 2012 10:21 pm
Post subject: Flash vs HTML5
There is a bit of a hot debate going on at the moment regarding Flash “vs” HTML5, as a Flash developer I thought I would join in to share with you some of my points of view. Since I am an Actionscript developer you might think that I am going to fall in the easy and logical attitude of defending Flash(SWF to MOV converter mac) and Flex (since Flex is also concerned here) at any cost. Well no it’s not going to be the case. I am also not going to say that HTML5 is the long awaited messiah that is going to bring a new web paradigm to your browser. I think that the situation needs to be seen from a more rational and holistic point of view.

Many arguments are thrown in the air around the debate and tend to go from one extreme to the other one:
1, You have the “Flash-haters” that generally have never used Flash and hardly know what it does or could do (nor do they with HTML5 ). They keep coming up with the same old arguments “I hate Flash intros”, “I hate Flash banners”, “I hate Adobe”, “The Flash player crashes my browser”...etc
2, You have the “enlightened” HTML5 disciples who think that their new god is going to bring a new web order and that Flash and his minions are doomed.
3, You have the Flash(convert SWF to WMV) addicts that cannot be bothered to look at the big picture and will reject anything that could threaten their Flash way of life.

Obviously none of the arguments summoned by the categories above are wise since they are based on an emotional approach and not on a pragmatic set of arguments

Simplifying web development